CIS Overview

The CIS is a British International school that follows the National curriculum of England in addition to teaching Arabic and religious studies. The CIS, although basing its curriculum largely on the UK model, also reflects our Egyptian location. We provide an appreciation of the different cultures and religions from which our children come. The age requirements below is as stipulated by the Egyptian Ministry of Education.

Curriculum Stage

Students Age

School Year

Foundation Stage

3.6 years - Foundation
4.6 years - Reception

Foundation & Reception

Key Stage 1

5.6 years for Year 1
6.6 years for Year 2

Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2

7.6 years for Year 3
8.6 years for Year 4
9.6 years for Year 5
10.6 years for Year 6

Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

Key Stage 3

11.6 years for Year 7
12.6 years for Year 8
13.6 years for Year 9 

Years 7, 8 and 9

Key Stage 4

14.6 years for Year 10
15.6 years for Year 11

Years 10 and 11

Studies leading to the International General Certificate
of Secondary Education (IGCSE)  or Edexcel.

Key Stage 5 (Sixth Form)

Studies leading to a General Certificate
of Education at Advanced level (A level)

How is the British System of education organised?
As the above table illustrates, the British System of Education is organised into (Key Stages). These Key Stages are then divided into Year Groups which make up the structure of the curriculum.

What year should my child be in?
The Egyptian Ministry of Education works on October 1st. as the key entry date for each school year. It is the age of children on this date that determines the year group to which they belong. It is extremely rare for a child to repeat a year within the British system. This situation would only occur in the case of fairly severe special needs and in close consultation with parents. Gifted or talented children are individually assessed and stretched by the introduction of supplementary programmes of study, and not by skipping a school year.